Best of Springfield®


Abraham Lincoln historic site
Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
212 N. Sixth St., (217) 558-8844

Finalists: Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site, Lincoln Home National Historic Site, Lincoln Tomb, Old State Capitol State Historic Site

Actor - Female
Chrissy Mauck - Beauty and the Beast

Finalists: Alyssa Shultz - Fiddler on the Roof and School of Rock – Muni, Campbell Coker - Bullets Over Broadway, Shelby Cass – Heathers: The Musical – STC, Rachel Hettrick - Merry Wives of Windsor/Two-Character Play

Actor - Male
Gus Gordon - Fiddler on the Roof

Finalists: Jordan Hayes Montague - Color Purple, Ryle Frey - School of Rock – Muni, Will Moffett - Bullets Over Broadway, Jake Hankins – Heathers: The Musical

Art studio/gallery
Springfield Art Association
700 N. Fourth St., (217) 523-2631

Finalists: The Pharmacy Gallery & Art Space, Wild Rose Artisans, B's Creative Studio, DIM Art House

Charity event
Fat Ass 5K

Finalists: Springfield PrideFest, Wooden It Be Lovely sales, Boo Crew Haunted House, Helping Hands of Springfield

Director of local theater
Gus Gordon
420 S. Sixth St., (217) 523-2787

Finalists: Jeremy and Sara Goeckner, Scott Richardson, Andrew Maynerich and Morgan Kaplan, Reggie Guyton, Preston Dodd

Drive-time radio show name and station
All Things Considered NPR

Finalists: Dave & Dina - 101.9 WOLF, Bondsy - 99.7 The Mix, DJ Blake - 103.7 WDBR, Greg Bishop - WMAY

Old Capitol Art Fair

Finalists: Springfield Pridefest, Route 66 Mother Road Festival, Chatham Sweet Corn Festival, Fat Ass 5K

Free entertainment
Levitt AMP Music Series

Finalists: Old Capital Farmers Market, Sherman Village Park Amphitheater, Curve Inn, Route 66 Motorheads Bar & Grill, Museum & Entertainment Complex

Local comedian
Capital City Improv

Finalists: Jeremy Nunes, Kathy Brennan, Larry Smith, Tye Collier

Local living author
Santrell Carson

Finalists: Courtney Wick, Shatriya Smith, Terri Woolbright, Cheyenne Bluett

Local podcast
Ray Lytle's Morning Disaster

Finalists: The Download with DP - Channel 1450, Ope, A Ghost, The Best Damn Podcast, Kpop Kimchi Podcast

Local sports team
Springfield Lucky Horseshoes

Finalists: Springfield Jr. Blues, Rochester High School football, Sacred-Heart Griffin High School football, Glenwood High School football, YMCA SPY swim team

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum
212 N. Sixth St., (217) 558-8844

Finalists: Dana-Thomas House, Illinois State Museum, Kidzeum of Health and Science, Springfield & Central Illinois African American History Museum

Place to buy local art
Old Capitol Art Fair

Finalists: Edwards Place Fine Art Fair, Wild Rose Artisans, B's Creative Studio, SAA Collective, DIM Art House

Place to go downtown
Old Capitol Farmers Market

Finalists: Obed and Isaac's Microbrewery & Eatery, Hoogland Center for the Arts, Café Moxo, The Wakery, Anvil & Forge Brewing and Distilling

Place to see a play or musical indoor
Hoogland Center for the Arts
420 S. Sixth St., (217) 523-2787

Finalists: Sangamon Auditorium, Legacy Theatre, Dominican Hall Theatre, Sacred Heart-Griffin High School, UIS Studio Theatre

Place to see a play or musical outdoor
The Muni
815 E. Lake Shore Drive, (217) 793-6864

Finalists: Theatre in the Park - Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site, Sherman Village Park Amphitheater, Union Square Park

Public art/mural
Mural on Taco Joint
By Spencer Stokes
710 S. Grand Ave E.

Finalists: Penny Lane building, Art Alley, SAA's trolls at Lincoln Memorial Garden, SAA's Wild Rose flower mural, CAP 1908 building

Spencer Stokes Midwest Graffiti and Such

Radio personality and station
Jim Leach - WMAY

Finalists: Dina Michaels - 101.9 WOLF, Bondsy - 99.7 The Mix, Bea Bonner NPR Illinois, Jeff Hall Weekends - 103.7 WDBR - John Spalding, 104.5 WFMB, Josh Roberts - 104.5 WFMB

Tourist spot in Springfield not related to Abraham Lincoln
Dana-Thomas House
301 E. Lawrence Ave., (217) 782-6776

Finalists: Illinois State Fair, Cozy Dog Drive In, Route 66 Motorheads Bar, Grill & Museum, Ace Sign Co. Sign Museum

Visual artist
1221 Photography, Zach Adams

Finalists: Alexandra Rossi, Elijah Miller, Mark Mangiaracina, Devin Larson, Severyn Beekman - Severyn Designs

Comments (0)
Add a Comment